Business, landlord, property management

Landlord shutting off power

Police respond to reports of landlord shutting off power

Posted: Jul 17, 2014 7:24 PM EDTUpdated: Jul 17, 2014 8:10 PM EDT

McMINNVILLE, TN (WSMV) –Police said they’re making constant stops to a McMinnville apartment complex to deal with a battle between a landlord and her renters. They said the landlord shut off power over late payments. The residents are ready to take her to court.

“There’s no air, and it’s hot out,” said Green Acres Apartments resident Shelby Mattos. “My food in the refrigerator, the freezer, everything’s spoiling.”

Mattos spent Thursday bagging up all the food in her refrigerator. The TV was out, computer off, clock frozen, and lights dark. Candles and lanterns sat in their place.

“I’ve got kids,” said Mattos. “You’ve got kids, you know, you can’t do this. I’m ten days late on my rent. Nobody got a letter on the door, a late notice or anything.”

“I have nothing now,” added resident Martha Watson. “There’s no lights. My son has asthma. I’m spreading my kids out so they have someplace to stay. I’m just confused. I don’t know what to do, and I have nowhere to go.”

Police said they know of six families at the complex with no power now, and they’ve told the landlord to turn it back on. After speaking with the district attorney, police said no criminal charges can be filed, but turning off the power opens up the landlord to a potential civil lawsuit from her residents. The residents said they’d hired an attorney to represent them all.

Repeated attempts to contact the landlord were not returned.

Copyright 2014 WSMV (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Standard

Leave a Reply

